Volunteering & Jobs: New York

Looking for a career in the art world? Or have the free time to be a volunteer tour-guide / human-shield-against-clumsy-tourists-stumbling-into-valuable-art-pieces? Many of the places on aGogh have job and volunteer pages, which we've listed below.

Name Locale Category Homepage Jobs Volunteer
American Museum of Natural History Manhattan Museum www.amnh.org Link Link
Aperture Gallery Manhattan Gallery www.aperture.org/gallery/ Link
Art in General Manhattan Gallery www.artingeneral.org/ Link Link
Bronx Museum of the Arts Bronx Museum www.bronxmuseum.org/ Link Link
Bronx Zoo Bronx Vivarium www.bronxzoo.com Link Link
Brooklyn Botanic Garden Brooklyn Vivarium www.bbg.org Link Link
Brooklyn Children's Museum Brooklyn Children www.brooklynkids.org Link Link
Brooklyn Historical Society Brooklyn Museum www.brooklynhistory.org/ Link Link
Brooklyn Museum Brooklyn Museum www.brooklynmuseum.org Link
Central Park Zoo Manhattan Vivarium www.centralparkzoo.com/ Link Link
Chelsea Art Museum Manhattan Museum chelseaartmuseum.org Link
Children's Museum of Manhattan Manhattan Children www.cmom.org Link
Children's Museum of the Arts Manhattan Children www.cmany.org Link Link
City Reliquary Brooklyn Museum www.cityreliquary.org Link
Federal Hall National Memorial New York Museum www.nps.gov/feha/ Link
Frick Collection Manhattan Museum www.frick.org Link Link
Harbor Defense Museum Brooklyn Museum www.harbordefensemuseum.com/ Link
High Line New York Park www.thehighline.org/ Link
Historic Richmond Town Staten Island Museum www.historicrichmondtown.org/ Link
Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum Manhattan Museum www.intrepidmuseum.org Link Link
Japan Society Manhattan Museum www.japansociety.org Link Link
Jewish Museum, The Manhattan Museum www.thejewishmuseum.org Link Link
Louis Armstrong House Queens Museum www.louisarmstronghouse.org Link Link
Madame Tussauds Wax Museum Manhattan Expo www.nycwax.com Link
Metropolitan Museum of Art Manhattan Museum www.metmuseum.org Link Link
Morgan Museum and Library Manhattan Museum themorgan.org/home.asp Link Link
Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art Manhattan Museum www.moccany.org Link
Museum of Modern Art Manhattan Museum www.moma.org Link Link
Museum of Sex Manhattan Museum www.museumofsex.com Link
Museum of the City of New York Manhattan Museum www.mcny.org Link
Museum of the Moving Image Queens Museum www.movingimage.us Link Link
National Museum of the American Indian Manhattan Museum www.nmai.si.edu/subpage.cfm... Link Link
Neue Galerie Manhattan Museum www.neuegalerie.org Link
New Museum of Contemporary Art Manhattan Museum www.newmuseum.org Link
New York Aquarium Brooklyn Vivarium www.nyaquarium.com Link Link
New York City Police Museum Manhattan Museum www.nycpm.org Link
Prospect Park Zoo Brooklyn Vivarium www.prospectparkzoo.org Link
Queens Botanical Garden Queens Vivarium www.queensbotanical.org Link
Queens Museum of Art Queens Museum www.queensmuseum.org Link Link
Rubin Museum of Art Manhattan Museum www.rmanyc.org Link Link
Socrates Sculpture Park Queens Museum www.socratessculpturepark.org/ Link Link
Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum Manhattan Museum www.guggenheim.org Link Link
South Street Seaport Museum Manhattan Museum www.seany.org/ Link Link
Storefront for Art and Architecture New York Gallery www.storefrontnews.org/ Link Link
Studio Museum in Harlem Manhattan Museum www.studiomuseum.org Link Link
Tenement Museum Manhattan Museum tenement.org/ Link Link
The Paley Center for Media Manhattan Museum www.paleycenter.org/visit-visitny Link
Whitney Museum of American Art Manhattan Museum www.whitney.org Link Link
Williamsburg Art & Historical Center Brooklyn Gallery www.wahcenter.net/ Link
Yeshiva University Museum Manhattan Museum www.cjh.org/p/42 Link Link

aGogh is a curated guide of city culture. We're still in alpha mode; the information here is presented as is: far-from complete and in the process of being compiled. In the meantime, we hope you find the listings useful as we continue to grow. Read more about aGogh or visit our blog.

Connect aGogh

Help aGogh

Most of aGogh's listings have been hand-compiled. If your favorite institution isn't on here, it's only because we haven't yet got to it. If you're a proprietor or an employee of a place and would like to be listed, email hello@agogh.com.